Free Thought Friday #2: Everyone Not In Love Now Are Guilty

지금 사랑하지 않은 자, 모두 유죄

Lately, when I have some free time, I’ve been trying to read Writer Noh Hee Kyung‘s collection of essays titled, “Everyone Not In Love Now Are Guilty“. The essays were published in 2008 and became a best-seller. Though I haven’t been able to go through all of the essay’s yet (well, the ones that have been translated by daheefanel), I thought I’d share some of my favorite quotes from the chapters that I have read.

 

I find Noh’s writing style to be very beautiful and intimate. Through her writing, you learn a lot about her as a person, yet at the same time, her writing is highly relatable and really causes you to undergo some self introspection.

For me, love was like a roll of bread with no preservatives, that easily goes stale.
It left with the seasons, and was dull like an aged elder’s day. 

-Chapter 1: Everyone Not In Love Now Are Guilty by Noh Hee Kyung; Translation by: daheefanel.wordpress.com

Because I didn’t love to death, I loved only moderately,
and because I didn’t believe in forever, things always ended immediately.
Because I didn’t miss anyone to death,
no one missed me to death.

-Chapter 1: Everyone Not In Love Now Are Guilty by Noh Hee Kyung; Translation by: daheefanel.wordpress.com 

Let go of your guilt towards me now. There’s no such thing as betrayal in love. As long as love is not a business, if one half of the couple loses their feelings, then naturally that relationship must end. It’s not something to feel sorry for. If you regret not being able to hold on to your feelings, then try to hold on to them a little with the next person. Let go of your guilt. How could you have continued seeing a lover you no longer thrilled and tingled over? Something that’s difficult at forty is even more wrong at twenty. Doing so can never be right.

-Chapter 2: A Letter To My First Love, 20 Years Later: “Thank you for leaving me.” by Noh Hee Kyung; Translation by: daheefanel.wordpress.com

If you think about it, there aren’t many things in this world you can’t understand. It’s just that we don’t know the other person’s heart.

-Chapter 3: The More Painful Memories You Have, The Better by Noh Hee Kyung; Translation by: daheefanel.wordpress.com

If you do decide to read the essays, feel free to turn the comments section into a sort of book club. I’d love to know your favorite quotes and what you think of writer Noh’s views on love and life.

14 thoughts on “Free Thought Friday #2: Everyone Not In Love Now Are Guilty

  1. fuudeebee says:

    I want to read it so bad TuT I love reading, and I love good writing. This makes me crave learning Korean to the highest degree so I can understand beautiful writings in its language. NHK is a person who has many insights and I think many can learn from her. I would love to get one in English, but I think the writings would have lost its beauty in translation.

    Like

  2. shl says:

    Hi, Dramapenchant, thanks for sharing this! I didn’t know these essays existed, but reading the excerpts whets the appetite, for sure. She certainly has a knack for introspection. I think it shows in her characters, too. I will be going to check out the translations – thanks for the link!

    Like

  3. MoniW says:

    Wow! Reading Noh’s excerpts is so interesting – what an interesting perspective she has on love and relationships. Not your typical “fairy-floss” romance stuff but fascinating and raw. You’re right, it does show in the characters she creates.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mia says:

    Hi!
    I love Noh Hee Kyung’s works but I’ve only known her works through dramas. I would LOVE to read her actual writings! Any of you guys know where to get this collection of essays in English??<3

    Like

Drop A Comment!

